Two of the Six Outstanding Research Awardees are ISE

This year’s winners of NC State’s top research and mentorship award include CAMAL/ISE’s Ola Harrysson and ISE’s Maria Mayorga, along with Anthony Blikslager, Jun Ninomiya-Tsuji, Rob Scheller and Anna Whitfield.

Original article by Matt Simpson from the Office of Research and Innovation. This article has been altered to focus on the ISE Department and CAMAL.

Six faculty members won the university’s top award for research and mentorship this year and two of those were ISE faculty members. The Outstanding Research Award honors those who show excellence in the creation of new knowledge, concepts, methodologies, or understandings; who commit to mentoring their fellow NC State faculty; and who serve the NC State research community. 

By earning the Outstanding Research Award, the six winners have also been automatically inducted into the university’s Research Leadership Academy (RLA), which consists of excellent faculty members in diverse fields who enhance NC State’s research culture.

Collectively, these six award winners have brought in tens of millions of dollars in research funding, published hundreds of highly cited papers and presented at dozens of conferences worldwide, and patented several seminal inventions — all while continuing to serve as dedicated mentors to their many students as well as their fellow faculty members and other researchers.

This year’s Outstanding Research Award winners are:

  • Ola Harrysson, ISE Edward P. Fitts Distinguished Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering and director of the Center for Additive Manufacturing and Logistics (CAMAL). 
  • Maria Mayorga, ISE professor of personalized medicine, University Faculty Scholar and interim director of the Operations Research Program. 
  • Anthony Blikslager, DVM, a professor of equine surgery and gastroenterology and the head of the Department of Clinical Sciences in the College of Veterinary Medicine.
  • Jun Ninomiya-Tsuji, a professor of biological sciences and toxicology in the College of Sciences.
  • Rob Scheller, a professor of landscape ecology and the associate dean for research in the College of Natural Resources.
  • Anna Whitfield, a professor of entomology and plant pathology at the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

“Congratulations to these faculty members receiving the linked recognition of the Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award and Research Leadership Academy membership,” said Phil Westmoreland, 2022-23 chair of the RLA. “Their scholarship, creativity, and accomplishments are inspiring. So is their willingness to provide mentoring and leadership service through RLA activities. We are grateful for their new commitment toward advancing the practice and culture of research across NC State.”

The Outstanding Research Award is given annually by the Office of Research and Innovation and the Alumni Association. The RLA, founded in 2016, is a faculty advisory group to the Vice Chancellor for Research.